Broadband

Access to high-quality business and residential broadband is essential to developing, growing and attracting businesses, improving academic performance, supporting healthcare, promoting innovation and entrepreneurship, attracting investment, educating the workforce of the future, quality of life, and improving Wyoming’s position as a global competitor.

The Federal Communications Commission has established that “advanced telecommunications capability” requires access to download speeds of at least 25 Mbps and upload speeds of at least 3 Mbps.

Residents of rural Wyoming areas are limited by access, with an average download speed of just 17 Mbps.

During the 2018 legislative session, Gov. Matt Mead signed into law SEA No. 0036, which handed the Business Council new tools to fulfill that mission. The law provided $10 million to establish a broadband infrastructure grant fund and $350,000 to establish a broadband coordinator position at the Business Council and a Broadband Advisory Council to oversee the agency's efforts.

The Business Council, in conjunction with the ENDOW Executive Council, Governor and the Broadband Advisory Council, has built a Broadband Enhancement Plan and will develop and adopt a broadband funding program.

Stay tuned to this page for updates in the coming months.

The Broadband Advisory Council comprises 11 members from different background and different areas throughout the state.

The 11 members are:

Zane Logan, city administrator, Powell
zlogan@cityofpowell.com

Ashley Harpstreith, Goshen County Economic Development, Torrington
ashley@goshenwyo.com

Chad Rupe, USDA Rural Development, Douglas
chad.rupe@wy.usda.gov

Randy Miller, Cheyenne Regional Medical Center, Cheyenne
randy.miller@crmcwy.org

Lauren Schoenfeld, Sweetwater County YWCA, Rock Springs
lauren@ywcasweetwater.org

Patrick Adam Lawson, Northern Arapaho Tribal Industries, Riverton
pat.lawson@windriverinternet.com

Barbara Sessions, Silver Star Communications, Afton
bsessions@silverstar.net

Erik Rasmussen, Charter Communications, Cheyenne
erik.rasmussen@charter.com

Doug Wilson, Powder River Energy Corporation, Sundance
dougw@precorp.coop

Tyler Vasko, Eastern Wyoming College, Torrington
tyler.vasko@ewc.wy.edu

Tony Young, State Chief Information Officer, Cheyenne
cio@wyo.gov

State Rep. Albert Sommers, Pinedale
albert.sommers@wyoleg.gov

State Sen. Dan Dockstader, Star Valley
dan.dockstader@wyoleg.gov